There are two account types, owner and member. The account type affects the user permissions and access.
- Owner: this is the account that set up user management. There's one owner account for each n8n instance. You can't transfer ownership.
The owner can:
- Add and remove users
- See all workflows
- Delete tags
- See all credentials (but not the sensitive information)
- Members: these are normal n8n users.
- See all workflow tags, create new tags, and assign tags to their workflows. Members can't delete tags.
- Change their own password.
- See their own workflows.
Create a member-level account for the owner
We recommend that owners create a member-level account for themselves. Owners can see all workflows, but there is no way to see who created a particular workflow, so there is a risk of overriding other people's work if you build and edit workflows as an owner.