View change history
Versions from the last 24 hours are available for all users. Versions from the last five days are available on n8n Cloud Pro.
Use workflow history to view and restore previous versions of your workflows.
Understand workflow history
n8n creates a new version when you:
Save your workflow.
Restore an old version. n8n saves the latest version before restoring.
Pull from a Git repository using Source control. Note that n8n saves versions to the instance database, not to Git.
Changes to workflow settings do not create a new version.
View workflow history
To view a workflow's history:
Open the workflow.
Select Workflow history
. n8n opens a menu showing the saved workflow versions, and a canvas with a preview of the selected version.
Restore or copy previous versions
You can restore a previous workflow version, or make a copy of it:
On the version you want to restore or copy, select Options
.Choose what you want to do:
Restore version: replace your current workflow with the selected version.
Clone to new workflow: create a new workflow based on the selected version.
Open version in new tab: open a second tab displaying the selected version. Use this to compare versions.
Download: download the version as JSON.
Name version: give the version a name and description. n8n never prunes named versions automatically. Refer to Naming versions for more details. Named versions are available on n8n Cloud Pro and Enterprise, and self-hosted Business and Enterprise.
Related resources
Last updated
Was this helpful?